Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 30, 2008, 2:24 PM   #1

Hello everyone, this is my 1st post. I am an amateur for many years. Have a Minolta 700si and Sony A100. Pardon me for asking for help in the 1st post.

I got very inconsistent exposure with A100, stock 18-70 lense and F36AM flash. A100 was set to ADI.I had been usingM,A mode to capture backlit and indoor scenes and turned out disastrous. Now I stayed at Auto P mode when using the flash.

Problems were, 3 people at frame center, bright glacier at distance, backlit. I used fill-flash in A100. I used M and A mode to set exposure to glacier. After taking the shot, exposure on faces were way too dark. The flash just "blinked" a little bit. Was it because the backlit fooled the ADI detection? But, ADI should use distance to calculate flash power.

Also, when I use bounce flash off the ceiling, I know ADI has not use at here. A100 will switch to TTL. Now, I get an even hard to predict exposure. Should I use Flash +/- to increase the flash power? This could mean I need to take multiple bracket flash shots and pick the right one afterwards.

Please correct me on my understanding of using flash. I know the set I have is way better than what I can get out from it. I like Minolta for years. Never tried other brand.

thank you so much.

Mylord
Mylord is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 30, 2008, 2:32 PM   #2
Administrator

The default matrix metering is going to weight your focus point more. So, if you're underexposing, you may be focusing on something lighter. I'd try different metering options and see what influence they have, too.