Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 8, 2008, 1:40 AM   #1

Once again I am new to the DSLR world and have had my Sony A350 for a few weeks now. After a few problems I have learned to achieve quality outdoor and indoor daytimepics and I am completely satisfied with the camera but I need help with taking pictures in dark auditoriums. For example My granddaughters had a recital tonight and the pictures came out some what dark and blurry. I was using a Sony 75-300 mm lens in auto. Any tips would be appreciated.

Also the reason I might sound like I am defending the Sony A350 is because of all the bashing I have readin some of the reviews from different websitesregarding the camera. I am not a pro by no means but I do have a good set of eyes and can see a quality photo from a bad one. When I purchased my new A350 it was to replace my point and shoot Sony F717. The F717 took fantastic photosbut the new A350Takes even better ones in my opinion. This is why I appreciate Steve's Digicams even though we may disagree from time to time I always know that all cameras andmanufacturers are given a fairreview and for that I applaud Steve's Digicams.

Thanks Timbo76
timbo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2008, 10:51 AM   #2

What you're talking about doing is tough. You need to use a telephoto lens because you can't get close enough, and even if you could, you'd be looking up at the stage. You can't use a flash becasue the subject is too far away. There are two ways to get proper exposures with fast enough shutter sppeds to avoid motion blur due to subject movement.
  1. Crank up the ISO setting. (Might not be a good idea with the A350, because it is more prone to noise at high ISO settings.)[/*]