Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 13, 2008, 3:34 PM   #1

and I'm having second thoughts...I bought the camera with the standard kit lens and also bout the sony 70-300mm lens. My pictures will revolve around my family. That means--indoor, candid, portraits, sports, family outings..etc....I havent been too impressed with the shots I've taken-they've been more indoor shots and the color isnt that great...

I'm thinking about returning the a300 and going for the XSi b/c I'm reading everywhere that the sony does horrible in High ISO settings, which may not be optimal for kids running around all the time. I know i'd have to pay few hundred more but i'm willing to pay that for the best pictures.

I'll also mention that I dont want to do that much photo editing, i'm a super beginner

thoughts anyone??????
jang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 13, 2008, 3:50 PM   #2

I think the fault lies with the lens, not the camera. For indoor shots, the kit lens isn't going to be great. I use a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 or a Minolta 50mm f/1.7 for my indoor shots.

Can you post some examples of the shots you're not happy with?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 3:54 PM   #3

i will when i get home!!! thanks for the reply...

how much are those lenses?
jang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 4:26 PM   #4

The Minolta 50mm f/1.7 is about $75-$125 on eBay.

The Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 is about $400-$450.

For indoor shots, you really need a large aperture lens, a flash, or a high ISO setting (or any of those in combination.)
Old Jun 13, 2008, 4:42 PM   #5

Here are some examples of indoor shots I took with those lenses:

Konica Minolta Maxxum 5D (1/50", f/2.8, ISO 800)with Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8:

Konica Minolta Maxxum 5D (1/30", f/2.0, ISO 800) with Minolta 50mm f/1.7:
Attached Images

Old Jun 13, 2008, 5:00 PM   #6