Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 25, 2008, 9:08 PM   #1

My Sister's Wedding is soon and i want a good lens for taking great picture during the wedding which will be indoor (at night). the kit lens takes great pictures outdoor but not indoor.

hopefully i would find an affordable lens for indoor and events.

any suggestion would be appreciated.

thanx in advance.
playa4real007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 25, 2008, 10:34 PM   #2

I'm an available light photographer. I use a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 and am very happy with it.

Others, no doubt, will recommend using a flash to go with the kit lens.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 9:23 AM   #3

The answer is going to depend on the particular venue for the wedding. Flash is usually frowned upon during ceremonies, so that is out. The question then becomes whether 2.8 will get you acceptable shutter speeds.

Do you have access to the venue ahead of time at night? If so, go and take a snap with your current setup using aperture priority and lens set to widest aperture and ISO at it's highest setting.

The results of that photo will help determine what shutter speed you can get with a 2.8 lens.

realize though - this solution is really only good for ceremony shots. It is certainly not ideal for posed shots or group shots because DOF will be too shallow and ISO too high.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 10:59 AM   #4
Administrator

First suggestion....