Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 26, 2008, 12:37 AM   #1

First, the disclaimers. I'm not a professional photographer or camera reviewer. I just love photography and more so, playing with cameras. The following is my personal opinion of the Sony A300 based solely on visual comparison of images taken at various camera settings, light conditions and a variety of subjects (all from my backyard). The idea is to give others interested in the A300 an unbiased opinion based simply on my experience with the camera.

I've been extensively playing with my A300 since I received it last Friday. I've experimented with various camera settings (creative styles, AF area, AF mode, Metering mode, WB, various FL and aperture settings, etc, etc, etc.).Although I am annoyed by some firmware design (limitations IMO) and somewhat poor ergonomics (some buttons are awkward to operate - now I must state that I have small hands so perhaps that's my problem), its is certain that the A300 has good potential once the settings are optimized to one's liking. There are many things I personally dislike about the camera, and most have to do with its operation.But, there's plenty to like about it as well.

The kit lens is not nearly assharp asthe Zuiko kit lens that comes with theOlympus E4nn and E5nn but it is not that bad either. The lens is certainly a good performer as long as there's plenty of light. Move to shaded areas and the images become very soft indeed.