Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jul 23, 2008, 11:43 PM   #1

Hey everyone, new here but have been lurking around for the past few weeks. I just bought an A300 and so far love it. although Im still learning how to use it =)

anyways, the initial reason I bought the camera was for a trip im taking in a few months. I do a lot of rock climbing and I wanted to just try and take some landscape pictures of the areas I climb in, wide open canyon shots, views from the high areas, just whatever I run into.

From Sony directly they have their 11-18 wide angle lens that was recommended to me at my local sonyStyle store. Do any of you have any experience with that specific lens or have any further recommendations.

Oh and the only lens I have so far is just the 18-70mm kit lens.

Thanks
firstascent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 23, 2008, 11:56 PM   #2

Don't have the lens but the reviews on Dyxum.com seem positive. You can read them here: http://www.dyxum.com/reviews/lenses/...asp?IDLens=311

The Sigma 10-20mm has a higher rating and is $150 cheaper. Plus it's a little brighter.

BTW congrats on the camera. I'm sure you're loving it, it's a great piece of engineering.
DrChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2008, 2:34 PM   #3

The Sigma 12-24 got good results:

http://www.dyxum.com/reviews/lenses/...asp?IDLens=122
feetjai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2008, 4:44 PM   #4

Is the 18 in your 18-70 not wide enough?

Of not, Sony's 11-18 (a rebranded Tamron), and Sigma's 10-20 and 12-24 all appear good from the reviews.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 12:00 AM   #5

first of all thanks for the replies, I absolutely love this camera, I just can't wait until I actually learn how to use it to its full ability.

I will look at those other lenses a little more closely and check out the reviews.