Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Aug 3, 2008, 9:07 PM   #1

I have been reading the reviews for the Sony A200 DSLR, and I am considering buying this camera. I currently have a Fuji S5100 that I have had for over 3 years and I want to move to a DSLR entry level camera. The reviews for the a200 seem to be pretty much in agreement about the camera and I don't have any questions about it, I was really wondering if anyone has has any experience wsith the 75-300 lens, and the quality of it. Is it worth buying this kit with both lens, or would it be better to buy the kit with just the 18-75 and then go get another brand/mfg telephoto. Is there a produce that you would reommend for a better long range telephoto?

Thanks in advance,

Jerry
jbirtsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 4, 2008, 6:13 AM   #2

I've got some experience with two versions of the Minolta 75-300, which is identical to the Sony version.

Out past 200mm, the results are soft and prone to chromatic aberration. I got rid of my copies, but I have a Beercan (the Minolta 70-210mm f/4.0) for my longer shots. It doesn't quite have the range, but it's faster and sharper.

There are better lenses, like the Sigma APO and the Tamron Di LD, either of which is less than $200, but it's hard to beat the Sony for $100.

What do you plan to shoot?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2008, 11:01 AM   #3

I have seen references to the beercan lens and was wondering about it. I am glad to know about the softness and chromatic aberration on the lens. This is important to me, what is the sense of having a ling lens if yu can't expect good results.