Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Aug 20, 2008, 8:31 PM   #1

Hi... Has anyone every taken little football league night shots.. This is my first time using my camera for sports night shots and everything came out a blurr. I am so confused about what flash would be good and what type of settings. The day shots are pretty simple for me just pretty much auto or sport shot and click but this night stuff is bumming me out... I do the web for my son's team and all the pics are taken with this camera... PLEASE ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL DO...:O

http://www.leaguelineup.com/welcome....;sid=742657050

Help me continue to make this an awesome season for my kids.....
minieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 20, 2008, 8:58 PM   #2
Administrator

Well... flash would be one option. But, you'd need a bright lens, too.

Most sports shooters are not going to use a flash for football. But, in order to get shutter speeds fast enough to freeze the action without a flash, you'll want to use a very bright lens, as well as high ISO speeds (with ISO 3200 often needed to stop most blur, which your Sony doesn't have). So, you'd have to try and get photos using ISO 1600 or lower.

Right now, the choices are someone limited for suitable lenses, depending on budget. One choice would be the Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 (around $1700 now).

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...2_8_APO_G.html

Tamron has a new 70-200mm f/2.8 coming out in Sony mount. But, it's not in stock anywhere yet:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...2_8_Di_LD.html

Sigma also has one in Sony mount coming. Adorama is taking pre-orders for it:

http://www.adorama.com/SG70200H2MAX....&item_no=4