Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 2, 2008, 12:57 PM   #1

Hi with TCav help i purchased aused lens from ebayfor my a300. Its a very clean lens, no scratches or anything i can see but i'm a bit disappointed that the zoom is not smooth. Theres a little drag in it sometimes when i'm trying to turn it and when shooting in macro it gets a little frustrating. I just got the lens today so I only played with it a little and thought i'd come on here and as if there was any way to fix this problem.

Also i noticed with this lens i have to be pretty far back from the object for it to focus. I'm averaging that i'm about 2' away before it focuses. Is this a default or normal?

I'm attaching a few pics, 1st is zoomed all the way out, 2nd all the way in and 3rd macro. What do you think of the quality? These are all sooc. I'm just asking because i'm really new to the whole dslr thing and since it is a used lens...

Thank you.

Debbie26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 2, 2008, 1:55 PM   #2
Administrator

Debbie26 wrote:
Quote:
Also i noticed with this lens i have to be pretty far back from the object for it to focus. I'm averaging that i'm about 2' away before it focuses. Is this a default or normal?
That's normal with this lens. It's closest focus distance is shown as 100cm (1 meter or 39.4 inches). That works out to a maximum magnification of only 1:14.3. Scroll down in this table and you'll see the specs for it:

http://www.mhohner.de/sony-minolta/l...php?lg=e#zooms

If you use the spring loaded macro switch, you can use manual focus to less than 12 inches, making it a 1:4 Magnification lens (able to fill the frame with a subject 4 times the size of the film or sensor is being used with).

It's not my favorite lens for closeups using Autofocus due to a further than average closest focus distance.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote