Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 10, 2008, 11:02 AM   #1

Hi all,

I made up my mind and am going to get a Sony A300. Sooo, I am a complete noob when it comes to the DSLR world and want to make up a 'starter noob kit'.

I don't want to go 'broke' here; I'm just getting started and not sure if I'll even be any good, but want enough on hand so I can explore.

So I'm thinking 3 basic lens's? An all-around, tele, and wide. Need a tripod. Not sure if I need a light meter, and it sound like a may need a flash.

I am totally out of my element here and could use some help on how to choose lens's. I'm not out for 'top-of-the-line' yet, but I want to get something decent. I'm mainly taking pictures of my animals, my family, my mom's garden, some scenery. Things that would help me for indoor shots would be nice.

If I need a light meter, is there a huge difference in quality? and how about the kind of flash I may need?

I have also been looking on Betterphoto.com If anyone has taken any of the classes I would love to know what you thought of it. If anyone has any suggestion on what class might be best to start with I'd appreciate that as well. I really want to learn to take better pictures. You can visit http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AaMmbdm2ZMWTlA and see some of the pics I have taken with my Oly 3040. I need help lol.

Thanks for any noob advice,

Maggie
Mahgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2008, 11:15 AM   #2
Administrator

Welcome.

I've moved your thread down to our Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR Forum, where you'll be more likely to get suggestions from Sony dSLR owners.

I'd let members know what kind of budget you have for best responses.