Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Nov 4, 2008, 11:56 PM   #1

Hi everyone,just bought the Sony 300 have just had it for a week now, it came with the 18-70mm and 55-200mm Sony lens and now i would like a macro lens to complete my needs,I'm only an amateur and just learning to shoot in manual mode ( geez god bless Auto mode ) yeah stuffed up about 200 shots so far.
Anyways i have been looking at this lens.. Sony Sal 50mm F2.8 Haven't the faintest idea of what it means but the write up on it sounds like it would be an ideal Macro, if you guys know if its good or bad please let me know, i really would appreciate your comments on a good macro.

Cheers Raoul
Raoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 5, 2008, 7:32 AM   #2

The Sony 50mm f/2.8 macro lens is quite good, but so is the 100mm, and the other macro lenses from Sigma and Tamron.

There are lots of ways to do macro, and a macro lens is a good choice. But there are less expensive ways that might work well for you. What do you want to shoot? Flowers or Insects? Watches or watch parts?

Macro lenses have the advantage of being able to focus continuously from 1:1, where the subject is projected life size onto the image sensor, to infinity. That means it can also be called upon to serve as a general purpose lens. It can do so, and is generally quite sharp, but is usually slow to focus.