Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Nov 13, 2008, 9:57 PM   #1

I am just beginning to use my A300 and have been using it indoors without flash using 800, 1600 and 3200 and not sure how I feel about the noise. Obviously the higher the worse it is.

Just wondering how you feel about the higher ISO performance and if you have any tips to help make it better. I would love to not have to go over 800 but depending on indoor lighting the 1600 is needed.

I remember reading that the high iso noise reduction only works on 1600 and 3200, is that true? If so would using 1600 instead 800 actually be better because of this noise reduction?

Trying to keep the shutter speed at 1/30 indoor at a decent aperature with the least amount of noise is my goal. I was in a church for a christening and tried using 400 but the shutter speed was too slow, then moved to 800 and it was much better. Was at the Met in NY going from 1600 to 3200 taking non flash photo's and wasn't too happy with the noise on some pics. This is all a learning curve for me, so bear with me.

Thanks
Raistlin_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2008, 6:43 AM   #2
Administrator

How much noise (or loss of detail from noise reduction) you find to be acceptable is subjective. You also need to take viewing/print sizes into consideration (as noise or loss of detail from noise reduction won't be as noticeable at smaller viewing and print sizes).