Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Nov 20, 2008, 12:25 AM   #1

Not bad for 1600 and no NR. Slightly sharpened and converted to Jpeg from IDC, watermark added and resized in Elements 4. Thats it.
Attached Images

lomitamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2008, 8:34 AM   #2

Nice pic, what lens were you using? Silly question, but would the same ISO setting on the 700 and 300 be equal or is the 700 superior in all ISO ranges?

So you have high ISO NR and long exposure NRoff (if you even shot at a speed that needed the long exp NR). What about DRO, which setting for that?

I am still learning with my 300 how to do avail light photography, quite frustrating at first. My lens is not the ideal one but for now it is what I have (Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5).

Gonna try and search for a 50 1.7 minolta on ebay, I am just not sure how now having a zoom ability is going to do for me when I use it.
Raistlin_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 9:06 AM   #3

That is a nice shot, but reducing the image so it can be posted here will eliminate some of the detail and the noise.

Can you post a 100% crop from the original?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 9:11 AM   #4

Raistlin_01 wrote:
Quote:
Nice pic, what lens were you using?
That was shot at 1/160" at f/2.0 and ISO 1600 using a Sony A700 and a 50mm f/1.7 lens.

This and other info can be obtained from the EXIF data from any JPEG image using a web browser plugin called IExifby Opanda. Highly recommended!
Old Nov 22, 2008, 9:55 AM   #5

Thanks Raistlin_01.

To answer your questions;

That one was shot with a 50 f/1.7 lensat f2 with shutter speed of 1/160". I shot in the "A" setting to control the depth of field. The lighting was good luckly. I got better shots of the individuals using a 100 f/2. The 50mm lens was for wide shots.