Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Nov 24, 2008, 3:33 AM   #1

I have just purchased my first slr(sony a350)and liked the features of the camera. I take lots of indoor shots in hockey arenas which for the most part are dimly lit. I have a sony 70-300 lens and after much reading and trial and error with ISO and white balance , Raw,etc I'm just not getting clear action shots. Lots of noise though. I was wondering if you could suggest an affordable and better solution. I plan toreturn the lense and look for alternatives. I guess a 2.8 with fast focusing is what I need. I am a newbie and learning lots as I read posts and reviews. Any help would be much appreciated.
Dave2550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 24, 2008, 7:04 AM   #2

It's unfortunate that the 70-300 isn't suitable for what you want to do. It is otherwise a very good lens.

There are only three fast telephoto zoom lenses available for Sony dSLRs that might suit your purpose:
  1. Sony SAL-70200G - 70-200mm f/2.8 G ($1,700) Without question, this is the best of the three, but you could probably have guessed that. It is sharp and fast to focus.[/*]
  2. Sigma APO 70-200mm F2.8 II EX DG MACRO HSM ($800) This is also a fast focusing lens, though probably not as good optically as the other two.[/*]
  3. Tamron AF70-200mm F/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro ($700) This is optically better than the Sigma, but doesn't have an internal autofocus motor, so is slower to focus, though it may be fast enough for hockey.
[/*]
The Sony 70-300 has a maximum aperture of 4.5-5.6. If you think you could get by with an aperture of f/4.0, there are two alternatives:
  1. Sigma APO 100-300mm F4 EX DG HSM ($1,100) It isa very good lens in all respects, and is longer than the others.[/*]