Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Dec 11, 2008, 7:11 AM   #1

Tonite I will be at an assembly at my son's elementary school. It is being held in the gym/lunch room. A good sized room where I will be about 40 feet from the stage area. I have an A300 with the kit lenses 18-70 and 75-300. I wish to take pics without flash if posible.

Any suggestions on what settings I should start with.

I should also add that I justbought this camera last week and I am fairly new to this F/stop, ISO, shutter speed adjusting thig.

It has been about 25 years since I had a camera setup that Ihad to do this with.

Andy

agfazio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2008, 7:51 AM   #2

You will have to crank up the ISO, perhaps to the max your camera allows. Do a bit of practicing before you go - get as far away from an area in your house that is lit only by a 100W bulb or two and shoot whatever is there. (That is likely to be about the level of light you will have this evening, though if you are lucky it might be a stop or so faster.) Set the camera to aperature priority with the lens as open as possible and see what the shutter speed is - likely to be about 1/10th sec at f/5.6 and ISO 3200.

So you are likely to get noisy pictures with lots of motion blur. The noise could be low enough to be able to produce reasonable 4x6" pictures and if you shoot enough, you should capture some with little motion blur.

Since you could have some very strange lighting (mixe of tungsten, florescent, halogen, ...), I suggest shooting RAW or RAW+JPEG. That will make it easier to deal with odd color casts if you need to and allow the easy way out (JPEG) if you don't need to.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2008, 10:34 AM   #3