Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Dec 20, 2008, 2:07 PM   #1

I have the 7D, a Sigma EX 50-500 (4-6.3), Sigma DC 17-70 (2.8-4.5), and a real old Sigma UC 70-210 (4-5.6) from back in the day when I used a Maxxum film camera.

Looking for some advice on what to spend my $$ on next. Though I would love the Alpha 900, $3,000 is a bit steep and I can't justify the purchase to my wife as I am an amateur photographer.

From the following choices, what would be your next purchase and why?

Alpha 700
Zeiss 70-200 2.8 or the comparable 2-8 Sigma
Zeiss 24-70 2.8 or the comparable 2.8 Sigma

Hmmm... I'd also like a couple of pocket wizards but lets stick to the above for now...

Thanks for sharing your thoughts...

musicbym is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2008, 3:14 PM   #2

It depends on what you shoot.

Between the 7D that you've gotand the A700, you'd be getting 12MP and 5fps, up from 6MP and 3fps. (Plus some bells and whistles.)

Between the Sigma 17-70 and the Zeiss 24-70, you'd be getting, on average, about an f-stop. (The Zeiss is sharper, but on the 7D, you probably wouldn't notice the difference.)

Between a 70-200/2.8 and the telephoto zooms you've got now, you'd be getting about two f-stops.

If you want higher resolution or faster frames per second, I'd say get the the A700. If you want to use a long lens withfaster shutter speeds and/or shallower depths of field, I'd say get a 70-200/2.8.

Sony's 70-200/2.8 is a 'G', not a Zeiss, but it's still $1,700. But if you opt for the Sigma or Tamron versions, you could save enough to get the A700 too! I think that's what I'd do.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2008, 9:17 PM   #3

Thanks for the response. Might you know if the 700 does a better/more consistent job autofocusing accurately in low light than the 7D?
Old Dec 20, 2008, 10:53 PM   #4

musicbym wrote:
Quote: