Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Feb 17, 2009, 12:23 AM   #1

I now see what every one was saying about the kit lenses not being good for the camrea. i have two shot tryed to get them the same as posabile one taken with the a-350 the other my old h-2. Yoy can see a big detail diffrnce the h-2 has better detail.

here is the a-350
Attached Images

cheeze_wizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2009, 12:25 AM   #2

now here is the h-2... Can some one tell me what glass to get for this cam i am a single father of two and dont have a lot of money left are thier any good used lenses on b and h website i am new to this and need help.
Attached Images

Old Feb 17, 2009, 1:06 AM   #3

CW, you may want to look at some Minolta Maxxum lenses.

This is at KEH, and they usually have a good selection of used lenses in very good condition.

http://www.keh.com/onlinestore/home.aspx

I have an A300, and the kit lens does alright with 10 mp, but I am looking at Minolta lens as a possible replacement for it. You can read user reviews at Dyxxum:

http://www.dyxum.com/lenses/index.asp

Some of the Minolta Maxxum lenses were very good, and can be had fairly cheaply, while others are not very good, but the dyxum website will allow you to read reviews and decide for yourself. Good luck, Robert

Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 4:06 AM   #4

The Sony kit lens has a broad zoom range, so it's hard to find a lens that covers the same range and is better optically.

I have the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 that I'm pleased with. Others here have liked the Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.0, and the Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 and Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 are also very good, but they all cost at least $350.

KEH.com has the Minolta Maxxum 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 ($133), 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 ($133), and 28-85mm f/3.5-4.5 ($76)that are all very good.