Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Apr 21, 2009, 2:49 PM   #1

Hi,

New on here - this is probably a really stupid question, so pardon my ignorance, but I have a problem with my sony a200.

Basically when I take a picture the image captured is no longer matching the image I'm seeing in the viewfinder - the image captured is shifted down about 20% from the image in the viewfinder. i.e. if I line the top of the viewfinder on an object, the top of the object appears a fifth of the way down the image.

Apart from that the pictures appear fine and everything else seems to work.

Has anyone got any ideas what might be causing this? Has something inside the camera been knocked out of alignment (a mirror?) - and if so how would I go about fixing it.

Like I said sorry if it's a stupid question - I'm not an expert

Thanks

Gareth
garraban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2009, 3:06 PM   #2
Administrator

When you say it's shifted down from what you see in the viewfinder, is the bottom portion of the image you're seeing in the viewfinder vanishing during playback, and are you capturing a portion of the image at it's top that's not visible in the viewfinder?

IOW, I'm just trying to see if perhaps you're seeing a reduced view versus a shifted view (which could be caused by not being close enough to the viewfinder, and more. You won't have a 100% view anyway through the viewfinder.

Also, are you sure your eyecup is installed correctly over it's groves (it pulls straight up to remove and presses straight down to install), so that it's not blocking a portion of the view you're seeing?

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2009, 3:21 PM   #3

Thanks for getting back to me