Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 18, 2009, 10:42 AM   #1

Default New a300 user...is this lens worth it?

I am a new Sony a300 owner. I am studying up on all this info but have come across a lens that I don't feel I know enough about to decide yes or no on.

Someone is selling a Maxxum 28-100 for $50. (good condition, no scratches, no mold) Is it worth it for me to get that lens in your opinion or should I just keep saving for better? Am I going to be able to do that much more with that lens than the one that came with my camera?

I photograph mostly children, families, church events, & scenery right now.

Thank you in advance.
s_u_n_s_h_i_n_e_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2009, 11:01 AM   #2

The Minolta 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6 D isn't a very good lens. See http://www.dyxum.com/reviews/lenses/....asp?IDLens=35

There are better lenses that are available for the same or maybe a little more money. What lens you should buy depends on what you shoot, on what lenses you already have, and on how satisfied you are with the results you're getting.
TCav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2009, 11:25 AM   #3

Thank you for your response. I appreciate it!
I'm learning...I just want to know it all at once! LOL!
s_u_n_s_h_i_n_e_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2009, 10:35 AM   #4

I don't know much about this lens but honestly, I don't see the point. You loose 10mm of WA over the kit and gain about 30mm at the long end, which in terms of zoom is not that much. So the question is, are you thinking about buying simply because of its price or you have a good technical reason for it? I would use the money to get a lens that would go to 200/250/300mm. Then you get some real benefit from it. Otherwise, it will be just another lens to carry around with limited use. That's my 2c.

Tullio
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote