Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 21, 2009, 3:19 PM   #1

Default New 330 vs. 300

Hi folks, newbie here.

I am in the process of trying to figure if I should wait for the 330 or if I should jump in and go for the 300. I read here that if you have a 300 the new feature set isn't really worth an upgrade, but if your buying new is the slight premium worth it?

I know the 330 has higher flash, updated GUI, supposedly they have also retooled the image processing.

What's won me over to the Sony alpha series is what you get for the price. Tilting screen with Live View and the way it's implemented, in body IS, and a few other things I can't think of right now. All these features can be had with the 300, but it would seem that for 50 bucks more you can have that and then some.

I hate that it has slowed down a bit from 3FPS to 2.5FPS but I can live with that. After all I'm coming from a Nikkon Coolpix 4100 which takes what seems like an eternity for me to be able to get the next pic.

I welcome all your suguesstions and advice.

Thanks
oman321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2009, 4:05 PM   #2

The main difference is the switch from CF to SD cards, and the loss of the AEL button. Everything else is relatively unchanged.

Unless you are partial to brown and/or pink. Then it's a no-brainer.

Last edited by TCav; May 21, 2009 at 4:08 PM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 4:16 PM   #3
Administrator

The new 18-55mm lens appears to have better optical quality compared to the old 18-70mm from the tests I've seen of it so far (but, you don't get as much range from wide to long).

The A330 is also smaller and lighter compared to the A300. I'd try them out in a store and see what feels better to you
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 4:44 PM   #4

Thanks guys,