Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 27, 2009, 5:43 AM   #1

Default Please help me with my minolta 75-300mm F4.5-5.6 " Big Beercan" lens

hello friends,
I have recently got an old minolta 75-300mm " BIG BEERCAN" lens. I have heard very good things about this lens but i have a problem. Whenever i shoot any picture with the lens only the center of the picture is sharp and the picture is blurred moving towards edge of picture. it is sharp at centre but disappointing everywhere except center.
Here is the picture taken with the lens.

if you can see the picture is in focus at center but as one moves away from center the image looks distorted.
I hope I have correctly explained the problem as I am new to photography I don't know the exact terms used to describe the situation.
Please help.
thanks in advance.
Satya.
satyajeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2009, 7:02 AM   #2

It's not just that the image is blurry as you move away from the center, it's that the image is blurry as you move to the left or right. As you move up or down from the center, it remains sharp.

I think that at least one lens element is out of alignment. The lens needs to be repaired and collimated.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2009, 8:15 AM   #3

Thanks a lot sir for help.
I will take this lens to service center and will get it examined. I have seen the lens from mount side and i can see some moisture inside lens. is it possible that moisture causing such problem?

thanks

Satya.
Old May 27, 2009, 9:09 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by satyajeet View Post
... I have seen the lens from mount side and i can see some moisture inside lens. is it possible that moisture causing such problem?
No. That sounds like another problem. Where did you get this lens, and how long have you had it?
Old May 27, 2009, 9:26 AM   #5