Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 30, 2009, 1:51 PM   #1

Default Need help deciding the new lens for A700

Hi Folks,

I am new to this forum and Sony Alpha community.
I had a A350 with kit lens for few months and loved the camera. Now I am moving to A700 very soon. I am new to the DSLR community and can use some help from experienced users on deciding the lens to go with my A700.

- How good is the SAL18-200 zoom lens for everyday zoom lens use? I can get the SAL18-200 for 50$ more. Is it a good buy ? or should I buy some other zoom lens and buy just the body for now?

- I need a prime lens for mostly portraits and general purpose use but I also like to do occasional macro photography. Lets say 80% portrait and 20% macro. I am confused between SAL50F14 and SAL100M28. I cannot buy both, I need to decide one. Which one should I go for? I am personaly more inclined towards SAL100M28, but I am not sure weather it will be a good lens for landscape/portrait photography since it is a macro lens.

Any suggestions or comments will be appreciated. I am going to buy the new camera and lens by next week.
piyush1gupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 30, 2009, 1:56 PM   #2
Administrator

If it's only $50 more to get the lens, I'd probably grab it, even though it's not the highest quality lens around. Put it on Ebay if you don't like it. ;-)

As for the other two lenses, you may also want to look at the recently introduced Sony 50mm f/1.8 DT lens in a lower cost prime. As for what focal length would be best would depend on the conditions you're using a lens in (how much room you have to work with, etc.) as well as your photography style (head shots from closer ranges, versus wider shots from further away, etc.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2009, 2:08 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply Jim.