Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 2, 2010, 3:46 PM   #1
Member
 
bella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Default A550 and HVL-F58AM Flash

Hi,

Wondering if anyone can shed any light for me, I have a Sony A550 and a HVL-F58AM Flash.
Worked perfectly when i first attached the flash to the camera. Now everytime i try and use it, it wont recognise it, and the internal flash keeps trying to pop up.
I have tried a multitude of settings, and to no avail, it wont work.

I have also reset both the camera and the flash back to original settings, and this didnt seem to help
Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Bella

Last edited by bella; Mar 2, 2010 at 3:50 PM. Reason: adding more info
bella is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Hawgwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 3,525
Default

Hi Bella, I wish I had a quick answer, but I don't. I have an A300 and an HVL-F42 AM flash, and try as I might, I could not get mine to do what yours is doing. It almost sounds like the contacts on the flash and/or the hot shoe are not communicating, whether from an electronic failure or "dirt". Not real dirt, maybe "dirty" contacts. Even with my flash turned OFF, but still attached to the camera, the internal flash was TOTALLY inoperable, even with the button release, which brought a message to the LCD that I had attempted an invalid operation.

SO! Here's my take on your situation:

1) Clean all contacts with a suitable cleaner and cotton swab or similar.

2) Problem lies with flash electronics.

3) Problem lies with camera electronics.

Do you know any one with a Sony DSLR to try your flash with?

Do you know anyone with a Sony flash to try your camera with?

This would give you a good starting point... Good luck, I wish I knew more!

Robert
__________________
Always use tasteful words - you may have to eat them.
You cannot find knowledge by rearranging your ignorance.

My Flickr
-Robert-


Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:34 PM   #3
Member
 
bella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Default

hey thanks for that, gave the contacts a clean, and still nothing. I have a A100 too, its out on loan, so when that comes back i will give it a whirl.
Im wondering if its the camera? as whenever i change to say fillflash, the flash symbol with the strike through it shows.
Its doing my head in, was working sweet as til i had to change the flash batteries, and now nothing. Have even tried 4 different lots of fresh batteries too, to see if that helped
bella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:41 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Hawgwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 3,525
Default

Now I'm curious. The symbol you described is the "no flash" symbol. I tried that too, and with the camera in auto (green), the flash would reset itself to auto.

Does the flash power on at all? Maybe the contacts, or even just one,in the battery compartment might need cleaning?

Wow..I hate the direction this is going...I hope something works for you quick...

Robert
__________________
Always use tasteful words - you may have to eat them.
You cannot find knowledge by rearranging your ignorance.

My Flickr
-Robert-


Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:47 PM   #5
Member
 
bella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Default

hiya, the no flash symbol shows even when i set it to say fill flash. When it was working fine, the flash symbol showed.
Flash powers on, works with the test flash.
It has to be the camera and the flash "not talking" anymore (maybe they had a fight lol)
The internal flash NEVER tried popping up before with the external attached. Now it seems to think its the only way to work.
Will try cleaning the battery contacts though, ready to give everything a go at the mo

What other settings have you tried your flash on? Ive tried every single setting as such, I normally at a minimum shoot on shutter priority, have tried auto and all the others to no avail
bella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:50 PM   #6
Member
 
bella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Default

quick update for you, just stuck my old generic flash on there, and it works sweet as.
Has to be the flash, off to give it a clean and report back
bella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Hawgwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 3,525
Default

I just put my flash on the camera, after setting the camera to fill flash and shutter priority. The back of my flash reads Zoom, auto,,,Level, auto,,,HSS,On,,,and mode is set to lightning bolt. Every thing works fine here. By the way, I always shoot aperture priority, but that shouldn't make any difference.

Robert
__________________
Always use tasteful words - you may have to eat them.
You cannot find knowledge by rearranging your ignorance.

My Flickr
-Robert-


Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 4:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Hawgwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 3,525
Default

Disregard last post LOL. Good luck!

Robert
__________________
Always use tasteful words - you may have to eat them.
You cannot find knowledge by rearranging your ignorance.

My Flickr
-Robert-


Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 5:03 PM   #9
Member
 
bella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Default

just tried your settings, cleaned the flash and arrrrgh nothing. Still doing the same thing.
Will try it on my other camera and see if it makes a difference or not.
Thinking maybe my new flash has crapped itself. Shame, cos ive only used it a couple of times
bella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 5:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Hawgwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 3,525
Default

The HVL F58 AM isn't a cheap flash. If it is faulty, you might be money ahead seeing about having repaired, within reason, and within range of an off brand flash, if that makes any sense???

Robert

ps Is it under warranty?
__________________
Always use tasteful words - you may have to eat them.
You cannot find knowledge by rearranging your ignorance.

My Flickr
-Robert-


Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.