Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 31, 2010, 11:49 AM   #1

Default a230 or a500? I am a noob.

Hi everyone, my first and hopefully many more to come post here on this forum!

I am looking for some expert advice, I recently purchased a Sony a230 DSLR w/18-55 lens kit and added a 55-200 lens.

I got a great deal on it, but now I am thinking that maybe I should go with the a500 instead.

I can get a great deal on it since my friend works at an electronics store.

My question is, should I go with the a500 over the a230? what is the difference besides the 10.2 vs 12.3MP?

I am not a professional photographer, I am just starting out, but my concern is that the a230 will limit me if I do progress into this hobby.

Please let me know your advice and the pros/cons of the 2 cameras. I need to make my decision today as I only have a short period to do the exchange.

Thanks in advance!
Slayer33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2010, 12:53 PM   #2

The difference between 10MP and 12MP isn't much, but the difference between the A230 and the A500 is significant. Most significant is that the A500 has 'Live View' that lets you compose photos on the articulating LCD display as well as the optical viewfinder. 'Live View' isn't really much help for a dSLR, but it does come in handy once in a while. The disadvantage of 'Live View' is that Sony's implimentation makes the optical viewfinder less useable, giving the A230 a slight edge.