Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Sep 6, 2010, 8:04 AM   #1

Default Blurry Viewfinder on Sony Alpha 200

Hi all,

So, I am new to all this and decided last year to start at entry level into the whole D-SLR route. I have produced some spectacular photographs, at least I think so but perhaps more through luck than design. I got the Sony Alpha 200 with an 18-70mm lens, and later I found a WA lens that fitted nicely on the end of that.

Recently I came back from holiday in Spain. I had spent the morning taking shots in the marketplace and of the old iberian buildings contrasted beautifully against the sky, and then decided to go into a Cathedral. Using Aperture Priority in the gloom I set it at a long distance, and held the camera against the pews for stability. Later in the day I fixed my wide-angle lens to to camera to take some great pictures of the interior.

Later that day, after removing the lens I found the viewfinder all blurry. The AF couldn't focus, and Manual focus didn't help. I left it for an hour thinking it might be condensation but nothing cleared up. I twiddled the dioptic wheel in case that might be it to no avail.

The only thing that did work was putting the WA lens back on. After that the focus worked and all things were fine, but taking it off again reverted the camera back to a blurry viewfinder!

Any ideas what I've done? I'm sure when I've used the WA lens before I never had this problem.

Cheers.

S.
Sitzmark Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 6, 2010, 10:09 AM   #2

Did happen to go into manual mode by accident...... check your focusing mode also check the view finder and to the right of it the dail adjusts the focus and move it back and forth and see if that brings it into focus.