Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Sep 26, 2010, 9:38 AM   #1

Default Shooting kids soccer with a A550

This is my first attempt shooting my granddaughters soccer game with my wifes A550. I usually use a A700 but wanted to see how the a550 can track with continuous AF and using center focus point. I also set drive to continuous high for short burst and tried the live view.

I used the Sony - AF 70-400 F4-5.6 G SSM with a monopod with the sun behind me and exposure set to -7.

Using the live view I ran into a problem immediately, the auto review does not help while shooting burst, you want the camera to continue focusing on the action but you get a review instead. Be sure to turn the auto review off. I ended up preferring to use the optical viewfinder which has it's shortcomings also., Coming from an A700 I felt much more comfortable shooting with the optical viewfinder.

Continuous auto focus seemed to track OK but the use of small squares instead of small red marks at focus points took some getting used to. Sometimes there would be more then one AF square visible in the viewfinder but only the center one would light up, it's confusing until you get used to it.

To sum it up- This camera will get the job done and you will get a nice amount of keepers but to improve your keeper rate be sure to use a monopod or tripod. Set drive to continuous high and AF to continuous. Get a large card (HCSD) for the burst. Also set exposure compensation to -.7. The metering seemed to be OK for this type of shooting. For those of you coming from an A700 I think there will be a bit of a letdown. This camera is not built to perform at the level that the A700 is.

Samples
Attached Images

lomitamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 27, 2010, 11:53 AM   #2

They all look very good to me. You did a great job.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote