Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 17, 2010, 11:01 AM   #1

Default A 500 Lens for Indoor sports

I'm new to DSLR. I'm going to be needing a lens for an A 500. Cost is a priority. I might be able to invest in more later as I learn more, but for now I am on a tight budget. Used would be fine. I'm planning on shooting my children's indoor sporting events. I'm not expecting pro quality shots, but would like to be able to eventually have reasonable quality shots. I'm not sure where to start. I'd appreciate any help you may offer.
HDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2010, 11:33 AM   #2

There are a few possiblities. If you can get away with an apperture of f/2.8 by compensating with a higher ISO without getting too much noise, then there are these:If you need something faster than f/2.8, your choices are limited to:Also, if you can find them, these lenses are available in the used market:*These lenses don't have their own fast autofocus motor, so they may not perform as well as the others in low-light sports/action photography.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 3:56 PM   #3

Not looking to shoot ESPN covers. Just something functional to take pics of my kids. I'm definitely not far enough along for thousand dollar lenses. Isn't there something functional while I'm learning?
Old Oct 17, 2010, 4:12 PM   #4

Just to lighten things up here, you're looking for cheap and good? right? me too.

You could get the sony 75300. it's cheap. (I have it) Not so good but might be serviceable. But it starts at f/4.5 so your iso will be high, shutter speed may be low. try a little test. take your current camera/lens combination to the venue. set your lens to 4.5. set your iso to 800. what shutter speed will you be using?