Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jan 5, 2012, 4:05 PM   #1

Default Sony SLT cameras

Hello everyone and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I'm considering buying the SLT-A35, but I was wondering: what are the main disadvantages of the translucent mirror technology?

Some say the mirror requires more maintenance and that its surface gets soiled very quickly, light loss is very present etc...is all this true?

As a student, I can't afford to change my camera every year!

Thanks...
Sony DT 50mm f/1.8 SAM

Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di-II LD
Tamron SP AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di USD XLD
Marawder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 5, 2012, 7:05 PM   #2

The is 1/3 stop lost due to the mirror compare to the sony dslr. I am not surprise the mirror maintenance is an issue. When the canon RT was around it was a pain as well. And it is very important to keep the mirror clean or spot can affect the image. I would seriously consider the dslr sister of the sony if you want a sony.
Old Jan 5, 2012, 11:23 PM   #3

I have not heard of any unique issues with the SLT's yet. Although if you needed to clean the translucent mirror for any reason I would not know how to go about it. I'm sure with time we'll hear of a way to clean it.

It is something to consider.

Considering that, I just picked a friends used A55 for a price too good to pass on. I plan on keeping the Sony 18-250 on it full time so I won't have to change lenses and thus reduce the possibility of the mirror getting dirty.

As for the light loss, I don't think it will make a big enough difference to even notice. I've experimented with high ISO (3200) and the noise is well handled.

Here is 2 shots. Both taken in M, ISO 3200, f/8, 1/4 second. Tripod 2s timer.
Top camera A700 with the Tamron 17-50 @ 50mm
Bottom camera A55 with the Sony 18-250 @ 50mm