Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Apr 28, 2005, 11:10 AM   #1

I am buying the 7D kit, I would like another lens to go with it. I am specifically looking for a good zoom somewhere in the 300mm range. I am not a pro by any means, but I am loking for something that would be good for shooting recreational hockey games, wildlife at the wild animal park, and such. So a good general use zoom.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I do not really know what to look for when it comes to buying lenses.

Thanks

Jamy
Jamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2005, 11:40 AM   #2

I bought a used Tokina 100-300/4 a few weeks ago and have been pleased. You can usually find them for under $400 used, but sadly they are not made any more.

The Minolta 100-300/ 4.5-5.6 APOis smaller and lighter and is also very well received. New it goes for around the same price as the Tokina.

The Sigma 100-300/4 has also received great ratings but tends to be more expensive (around $800-$900 new).
jcharding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 11:57 AM   #3

I found a deal that inlcudes the 7d, the kit lens, a 4gb microdrive, and a Tamron 70-300 AF lens f/4-5.6 LD. Is the the Tamron any good? The price at $1769 seems to be good for all that is included.

Thanks
Old Apr 28, 2005, 6:02 PM   #4

That lens is Ok, I would just be sure to run the retailer thru the Better Business Bureau befor handing over $$$.

chaznolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2005, 10:50 AM   #5

The bundle I have been looking at also includes a Konica Minolta Maxxum 28-100mm f3.5-5.6 (D) Autofocus Zoom Lens.

Would this lens be good on the Maxxum 7D, or should I opt for the K&M digital specific lens? Is there enough of a difference to spend the extra money (the same bundle I listed above is $200 more with the digital specific lens) on the digital specific?

Thanks

Jamy