Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jul 21, 2005, 11:33 PM   #1

Greetings folks. Just got my 7D today.. What a beautiful camera.

I am looking for some commentary/opinions on the following lenses.
I once used them with my 700si and although they are AF lenses and work with the 7D I was curious if I should be considering some alternatives.

I have the following:

Tamron 20-40mm f2.7-3.5
http://www.photodo.com/prod/lens/det...7-35-813.shtml

Tamron 35-105mm f2.8
http://www.photodo.com/prod/lens/det...5_28-828.shtml

Sigma 70-210mm f2.8 APO
this link is not exact. I think the link must be a later version.
http://www.photodo.com/prod/lens/det...POEX-784.shtml

I am not an expert at reading the graphs, scores etc.
For those that are inclined I would welcome your interpretations of the photodo data and your opinions of these lenses.

On the subject of file formats I was curious what the general consensus was.
Do you use XFine or do you find another format sufficient for your needs?

Thanks in advance for your comments and opinions.

deadhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2005, 7:45 AM   #2
Administrator

Congratulations on the 7D!

As for the lenses,that Tamron SP 20-40mm f/2.7-3.5 tests better than any other wide zoom available inMinolta AF Mount, and even tests better than some widerprimes wide open (see the f/2.8 numbers for the Minolta20mm and 24mm f/2.8 primes as an example).

I just bought one of these lenses myself (but I don't have a 7D to try it on). Matt Chum (a 7D owner) has this lens, and he says it's the sharpest wide zoom he's tested on it. I saw a couple of pics he took with it for demo purposes (scene at 20mm at both f/2.8 and f/8 0, and I was impressed with the sharpness.