Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Aug 5, 2005, 6:05 PM   #1

I am an amateur photographer who was looking into going from a Minolta film SLR to a KM 7D (so I wouldn't have to replace my 5 lenses). With the announcement of the 5D, with its lighter weight and lighter price tag, I was wondering if that might be the better one for me.

Has anyone compiled a comparison between the 7D and 5D as far as features? Are there any features on the 7D that are not on the 5D that warrant spending the extra money?

Thanks!
StevenBVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 5, 2005, 9:12 PM   #2
Administrator

Steven:

There are a few lists floating around comparing the two cameras. Here is one:

http://www.vividoptic.com/Info/KM5DvsKM7D.htm

Some people commenting on the two models prefer the control layout of the 7D (fewer external controls with the 5D).

Another big difference between them is the buffer size. With the 7D, you can take 9 photos in raw mode at approx. 3 frames per second before the camera needs to slow down (because the internal buffer fills up).

With the 5D, this buffer is only 3 frames shooting in raw (versus 9 frames with the 7D).

Of course, many photographers may not need the extra buffer space.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2005, 3:29 PM   #3

1) magnesium alloy versus plastic

2) ability to clean the ccd with a poly q-tip and methanol

3) 205k vs. 115k lcd

4) weight (more is better)

5) external KNOB and BUTTON controls

(you get what you pay for)

bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2005, 3:39 PM   #4
Administrator

bernabeu wrote:
Quote:
1) magnesium alloy versus plastic

2) ability to clean the ccd with a poly q-tip and methanol

3) 205k vs. 115k lcd

4) weight (more is better)

5) mirror L/U via self timer

6) external KNOB and BUTTON controls

(you get what you pay for)