Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 13, 2005, 3:56 PM   #1

I'm considering buying either the KM5D or the 7D. I'm pretty new to photography (taking a class now) and am not sure which lens would be best for me.

I will be taking mostly snowboarding photos, NYC architecture shots, and indoor club/concert venue shots. I do want to take some real estate shots for our rental home and figure a wide angle would be nice for this.

Can someone explain to me if the lens that comes w/ the 7D would be adequate for wide angle shots or is the 5D a lot better? I am going into B&H on Sunday to pick each one up and handle it . I know that I can purchase the body only and get a separate lens, but is that really necessary for someone w/ not much experience? I'd like to buy the kit and the 7D looks nice w/ that rebate.

thanks,
Amy.
actionwoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 15, 2005, 11:41 AM   #2
Administrator

The 7D is sometimes sold as a kit with a 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6 AF lens.

But, because the sensor is smaller than 35mm film in a DSLR like this, your angle of view is narrower (your lenses appear to be "longer" on most DSLR models).

So, you need to multiply the actual focal length by 1.5x to see how the angle of view compares with the same lens on a 35mm camera.

A 28-100mm lens on a 7D would have the same angle of view as a 42-150mm lens on a 35mm model. 42mm is not very wide for interiors and architecture.

The 5D "kit lens" is an 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 lens. So, it would have the same angle of view as a 27-105mm lens would on a 35mm camera.

That's much better, but it still may not be wide enough for everythingsome camera ownerswant to shoot. So, there are even wider lenses available.