Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 18, 2005, 2:11 AM   #1

I was all set to pick up the Pentax *ist DS. I'm an amateur/hobbyist and have been out of things for a while. I took a couple photography classes in college and have an old Pentax SLR with 3 lenses. I was sold on the *ist DS because I could use my existing lenses, but the more I think about it, the less of an advantage I think it is (my existing lenses are not auto-focus, so I'd probably buy new lenses anyway.) Still, though, the thought of picking up an old *quality* lens for cheap on eBay is enticing.

So, I went into a local shop to see/touch/play with the *ist DS, and the salesperson mentioned the Maxxum 5D. I had read many reviews on the Nikon D50, Canon XT, and the *ist DS, but hadn't heard much about the 5D. The salesperson (right or wrong) boiled it down like this: the *ist DS is slightly smaller and can take just about any Pentax lens ever made. Plus, the *ist DS has more control over the flash (can't remember what she called it, but something about compensation comes to mind) and 11 point auto focus (both advantages over the Maxxum.) The Maxxum 5D, though, has built-in image stabilization which is a big help to amateurs shooting with heavy zoom and no tripod (and also macro shooting without a tripod.)

I've since read all the reviews I can find on the 5D, and it does sound like an excellent camera.

Can anyone help tip the scales for me? I'm now thinking the image stabilization is the killer feature that leads me to the 5D. Am I making too much of it, or is it really all that and a bag of chips?