Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Dec 3, 2005, 6:43 PM   #1

I'm going to buy a 5D, I would like a little more reach than the kit 18x70, I have thought about the sigma 18x125 or 18x200, question?, will they be as fast to focus? as good in quality?, and will the IS in the camera be good enough to take some long shots without a tripod? or will I be just about as well off with the kit lens?This is my first time with a "Real camera" just been a point and shoot guy. Thaks for you help, I need some good advise:?uy a 5D
jimmy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2005, 10:10 PM   #2

the kit lens is a 'point and shoot' lens

the whole point of a slr (digital or film) is lens interchangeability

you need (allowing for 1.5x factor):

24mm f2.8

50mm f1.7

70-210mm f3.4-4.5

this will give you the equivalent range of 36-315mm
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 12:38 PM   #3

I am on the same path, having owned Minolta 35mm slr's in the past I'm looking to buy a 5d. My issue is whether I'd be ahead buying the lens seperately or the kit lens. Even Steve says that the kit lens isn't the greatest, which gets me thinking that maybe I should buy the body and lens seperately.

The question above wasn't answered fully and is a big part of what I want to know...are those sigma or even tamron lenses better than the included kit lens? I'm not asking about focal length, but about the quality of the lens itself. There isn't much price difference between buying the camera with the lens vs. the body and lens seperately (less than $80 US) making price not an issue for meon this matter.