Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jan 2, 2006, 12:20 AM   #1

Just bought a 5D to replace my 7000 - need some advice on the compact flash. I am not a professional, and amateur is a stretch...

Would I really see a huge benefit going with a scandisk extreme CF card? I would like nothing smaller than a 1Gb and could get a Crucial Compact Flash around $50. Just looking for a good price on mid-performance memory...

thx

2wired is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2006, 6:52 AM   #2

Sandisk Ultra II is perfect and Extreme is not worth of his price.
You can check some results of CF cards here.
http://www.dyxum.com/reviews/cfcard/index.asp
red71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2006, 3:03 PM   #3

2wired wrote:
Quote:
Would I really see a huge benefit going with a scandisk extreme CF card?
The benefits you get from a faster card are:
- It's quicker for the camera to write picture data, so...
.... the time you have to wait between shots is shorter.
.... the camera can take more shots in a "burst" on continuous shooting
- Faster cards are a bit more economical, because it requires less time to store data on the card, so will require less from the battery.
- When you come to copy the pictures off the camera onto your computer, whether you use a reader or just link to the camera, it will be quicker.

I have a fast SD card in my current camera, and to me the benefits are small, but I think worthwhile. I like the fact that it takes a few minutes less to transfer 256Mb to my computer, and being able to shoot a couple of extra shots in a row on a DigiCam has been quite useful to me.