Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jan 4, 2006, 4:30 PM   #1

Greetings everyone

I have a question that might be considered silly for soem people but I am new to slr photography and wouldnt like to base my experience on big holes in my nowledge ;-)

What would be the reason for people to get prime lenses? I mean they have no zoom, is it just for low f stops/shooting in very low light conditions?

Would apreciate any kind of answers...
tom.krysiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2006, 4:49 PM   #2
Administrator

Primes are usually sharper compared to zooms (it's less complex to build a fixed focal length lens versus one with more optical elements moving around to allow for a range of focal lengths).

Zoom lenses tend to have more distortion (barrel and pincushion) compared to primes.

A prime is usually smaller and lighter than a zoom that includes the same focal length with equivalent brightness.

And, yes, you can find brighter primes compared to zoom lenses in some focal lengths, and one use is for low light condtions (faster shutter speeds, better Autofocus).

The brightest zoom lenses usually start out at f/2.8 Brighter primes may start out at f/2.0 (twice as bright as f/2.8 ) or even f/1.4 (4 times as bright as f/2.8 ), depending on the focal length you're looking for.

A brighter lens (larger available aperture, represented by a smaller f/stop number) will also give you the ability to use a shallower depth of field (so that you can isolate your subjects from distracting backgrounds).

A brighter lens also helps your camera "see" better in less than optimum lighting for Autofocus purposes.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2006, 6:53 PM   #3

thank you for making everything clear. Also sorry I didnt put it on newbie forum but thats the one I am constantly watvhing as an owner of KM 5D.