Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jan 24, 2006, 2:52 PM   #1

I just got a 5D with the kit, and 50mm 1.7 lens, happy with both,"I'm new to this SLR world" I would like one more lens to get to about150mm to 200, I'm no pro, in fact I'm not even close, so I need advise on what is the best "cost vs quality" option for me. I would like to stay on the "cheep" side of the fence.

thanks for you help:? PSIHAVE NOT READ GOOD THINGS ABOUT THE 18X200 BOTH 3RD PARTY AND MINOLTS LENS. true or false?
jimmy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2006, 5:30 PM   #2

try to find a used (it's out of production) maxxum 70-210mm f4 (not the f3.5-5.6)

about $180 USA
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2006, 10:26 PM   #3

There are FOUR minolta 70-200 zooms that I know of :?
1)70-210 F4 (The most liked, used only, large heavy and relatively the most expensive) Aobut $100-200 on eBay
2)70-210 F3.5-4.5 Second most recomended, I havent found one yet
3)70-210 F4.5-5.6 CHEAP ($35 used at KEH, $90 new)
4)70-200 F2.8 APO G Top end, really nice, $1800

I cant offer any first hand info, but I can regurgitate what I've read recently (making this at least third hand info...:?). Seems that #1 on my list is the most desirable but it IS big and heavy, #2 is often recomended too. There are other third party lenses too, like Sigma. I dont think too many people know anything about the new Minolta 18-200 yet ($430) but generally the longer range a zoom has, the lower quality... FWIW.

Dont forget the three 80-200's, the 70-300's, and the 100-200 f4.5 (which is supposed to be another good one, used only). Oh, primes too! (135mm and 200mm are applicable here... but expensive).