Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Feb 2, 2006, 5:21 PM   #1

Will 2000xi Minolta flash work with KM 5D? Please help I am a total beginner. Thanks in advance
Darek66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2006, 5:27 PM   #2

I think you'll find it won't, at least not easily.

As I understand it (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) the only KM flashes suited to the 5D are the 2500, the 3600 and 5600 and the macro twin 2400 and macro ring 1200.

http://konicaminolta.com/products/co...cessories.html

There are also 3rd party flashes, eg Sigma, that are also compatible. Hmm, also there are some adapters which MIGHT allow you to use it... but if you're about to buy the flash, it may be easier to go with one that definitely works - or else take it into a store and try it out
fother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2006, 5:36 PM   #3

Thank you very much for your explanation. I tried to use it with the camera but it appears to go at full blast with camera having no control over it no matter whatI do. Now I know why

Old Feb 2, 2006, 5:48 PM   #4
Administrator

You might get it to fire, but it's going to fire full power (so, you'd need to go manual exposure and stop down the aperture to try and keep from overexposing closer subjects, opening up the aperture for further subjects (and changing settings anytime you change distance to subject). That's the behavior the older dedicated flashes tend to exhibit when you can get 'em to work..

If you want a dedicated Minolta flash that works in all modes, the least expensive one that KM has is the 2500( D) (and it's missing HSS).. To get HSS, you'll need to 3600HS (D) or 5600HS (D);

A third party flash that some users like is the Metz 54MZ4 (or MZ3). You'd need the latest SCA3302M5 foot to go with one for proper operation (but, Metz can upgrade an older foot).