Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Feb 24, 2006, 5:27 PM   #1

I'm new to the DSLR world. Yesterday the Queen Mary 2 sailed next to the original Queen Mary so I grabed my 5D along with the kit lens and a 70-210 f4 lens. Not having my instruction manual with me I adjusted my settings as such.

Exposure mode dial turned to sunset ( I mistakenly thought itmeant sunlight),

70-210 lens, the ship was about 3/4 of a mile away.

ISO 400,

WB daylight-0,

kept the ev scale in the viewfinder at 0 to +1.

Had my elbows firmly planted on a wall and these ar the 2 best photo's I got. I did an auto levels correction with elements but it still alot left to be desired.

How would have adjusted you settings for this shot.

Thanks for any replies. Mike
Attached Images

lomitamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 24, 2006, 5:29 PM   #2

Second shot same settings. I was really trying to get both ships in the same frame but you needed a helicopter or boat. Would have been nice.
Attached Images

Old Feb 24, 2006, 7:03 PM   #3
Administrator

lomitamike wrote:
Quote:
Exposure mode dial turned to sunset ( I mistakenly thought itmeant sunlight),
That's a scene mode (or Digital Subject Mode as KM appears to refer to them in the manual) and is likely to be changing all sorts of stuff related to color, contrast and saturation and white balance.

So, the approach I'd take is not to use them unless you're trying to take photos in the exact conditions they are designed for and like their effect (after you try it to see what it does in a given set of conditions).

I don't know how they work in the conditions they're intended for, since I've never taken any photos in the scene modes available yet (but, then again, I've only had a 5D since October). ;-)