Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Mar 3, 2006, 7:57 AM   #1

Hello again folks.

Its been awhile since my last post when I reported on my experience with my new 5D. I have had time to play since then and I am still very impressed with the ability of a camera at this price range.

I am making a weekend trip to the Lake District in 3weeks to go give the camera a real run with landscapes. I'm new to landscape photography and my question to you more experienced folk is will the kit lens (despite it's limited quality at wide angle) be good enough for this style of photogrpahy. I feel that 18mm is prob ok but with the 1.5x factor doesn't that make this lense a true 27mm??

Additionally, is the kit lens better at wide angle with small or larger apertures? My limited time with the camera and work commitments has left little time to experiment.

I've been looking forward to this trip for ages as Cumbria is a magnificent shoot location and I just want to come back with phots which do it justice!

Thanks
Marcus.

overexpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 3, 2006, 9:27 AM   #2

I think you'll be fairly happy with the 18-70 lens, landscapes tend to be shot at small aperture (high f number) so you'll be using the best part of the glass. Yes, 18mm= 27mm focal length, but many photographers shoot landscapes with a 24 or 28mm lens, you're right there. Your own style is the major factor in whether or not 27mm is wide enough.( There is a 11-18mm Minoltawide zoom, if you want a lens that's worth more than your body.):shock: