Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Mar 14, 2006, 12:31 PM   #1

I've only had my 5D a few months, so I'm still learning some of the "ins and outs" here. I'm not completely satisfied with the clarity/sharpness of my photos yet, I feel like they should be a little sharperand clearer than they are.

I've been using the lenses that Iused for my Minolta Maxxum before buying the 5D. Could that be a problem, because they're not specifically digital lenses? I know they're all interchangable with the 5D, but I'm wondering if it could be causing it?

My other thought is that so far I"ve been shooting in Extra Fine. I have a friend that shoots her camera (Nikon) in RAW, and her pictures look so much sharper than mine. I haven't attempted this yet, but I'm checking it out today. maybe that could bethe difference I'm looking for?

Any thoughts would be appreciated!
Darlene2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 14, 2006, 12:46 PM   #2
Administrator

What lenses have you got? Chances are, they're just fine and because you're looking at a very large image on screen compared to smaller prints most users get from film, the flaws are more obvious.

I'd set sharpness to +1 as a starter if shooting jpeg.

Some made for film lenses can be better on a DSLR because the entire image circle is not used, and you don't get as much edge softness since the sensor is using the "swee spot" (center) of a lens. I've been quite impressed with some of the older lenses I've got on a 5D.

You may also want to see what apertures you're shooting at. Most lenses are a bit soft at wide open apertures (smallest f/stop numbers), and sharpen up nicely between 2 and 4 stops down from wide open.