Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Apr 6, 2006, 9:40 PM   #1

I recently decided to purchasemy first digital slrKM5d.I am not quitesurehow to pick out a lens. I am shooting pics on a soccer field mostly and some landscape. I am new to this lens stuff. I had a minolta 35mm with 2 lens, but never paid attention to length, just used whichever zoom I needed at the time.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Could someone give me an example of how far a certain lens wouldzoom maybefor example a tamron 70-300 ld macro?

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"I also saw some talk about a 18-200mm lens to make the camera sort of like a digicam??? am I saying this right?

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"If I don't plan on changing lens frequently would buying that 18-200 lens be enough?The outside pics are far, indoor pics close. in a highschool gym to be exact and probably any kids birthday parties.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"thanks all!

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"beth

bethel02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2006, 6:26 AM   #2

The 18-70kit lens is not a pro quality lens, but it doesn't add much to the cost, and is a decent lens for indoors and a "normal lens". The 20-200 issue was just discussed, so I won't elaborate too muchon that issue. I have a 70-210 already, and am looking at a Tamron 70-300. If you only want to own 1 lens, the 20-200 would seem to fit the bill, and there are 20-300 (pricey) also; part of the beauty of a SLR is interchangeable lenses, so you are defeating the purpose if you only want one.
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2006, 7:36 AM   #3
Administrator

Beth:

What kind of photos in a gym?

Will you be able to use a flash?