Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Apr 11, 2006, 8:29 PM   #1

I finally ordereda KM 5d. I have been agonizing over a camera choice for many months, hopefully I will get it before easter!!

Was looking on www.newegg.com for a compact flash card. Seems to be the best for prices! I didn't know there was so many choices.

Any suggestions on a specificbrand? I know some are faster than others. But, some don't have the write speed in the description. I was going to get two 512mb. I have a little 128mb for my canon which works great for that, but doesn't hold enough for this new one.

Thanks

beth

bethel02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 11, 2006, 8:31 PM   #2

Beth,

I bought a Lexar 2GB 80X from Amazon.com for mine, and I am pleased with it. The price was in the mid $80 range. Steve's recommendation is get a big CF for the DSLR, where the conventional wisdom was get several small cards for a regular digicam.
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 8:38 PM   #3
Administrator

Some cards (like theKingston Elite Pro cards)can bevery slow in Konica Minolta models. Popular choices are the Sandisk Ultra II, Extreme III; and Lexar 80x cards.

You can find some CompactFlash card tests for the 5D here (note you can change the Cameraheading to "All" and see more cards, compared in both a 7D and 5D).

http://www.dyxum.com/reviews/cfcard/index.asp?cam=5D

The 5D is faster writing to media compared to the 7D (but you would get an idea of how other cards work in KM models ifyou look at the full list).

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 8:52 PM   #4

"Some cards (like theKingston Elite Pro cards)can bevery slow in Konica Minolta models."