Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 8, 2006, 10:55 AM   #1

Hi guys, I'm quite new to the Photography and i need your help.

I have a Dynax 5D that comes with AF DT 18-70 f3.5-5.6(D)

I was wondering if i plan to buy a lens and a flash what would it be?
Basically the lens is ok but there are times when i feel that there is something lacking/missing aside from the zoom.

Basically i will be using it for taking pictures of weddings, famly outings and also i love to shoot on nature.

I saw a lens the Konica Minolta Zoom Telephoto AF D 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Autofocus Lens, is this a good buy or what are your suggestions.

Can you guys help me out? Thanks

Gobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2006, 11:36 AM   #2

Since the KM flash units are almost unavailable, you have Metz, Sigma and Promax to choose from. The Promax does not support HSS, so it is not as good a choice for on shoe use. The Sigma 500Super has been a crap shoot, but I just redad that they have a II model with a textured body that has solved their issues. Do a search of this forum for Metz information. As for lenses, you have plenty of used Minolta glass, but not as much new. Sigma and Tamron are the two aftermarket brands to look at. Since you have the kit lens, a 70-200/70-210/70-300 would be a good choice. The 28-75 minolta is another good lens.
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 1:10 PM   #3

cope wrote:
Quote:
Since the KM flash units are almost unavailable, you have Metz, Sigma and Promax to choose from.
Not only are the KM'shard to find,they are expensive.

I see a lot of people get the Sunpak 433D with an adapter for the hotshoe, which is very reasonably priced. I'm just not sure what you lose with the Sunpak. I'm sure Sony will be releasing KM rebranded product, but I think they will still be as expensive if not more.