Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 13, 2006, 9:31 PM   #1

I graduated from college today and have some extra cash now. I have been wanting a 5D but haven't had the funds in a while. I have them now and wonder if I buy now will it be a waste or will I be one of the lucky ones to end up with a KM body? If the alpha has a much better sensor I think it may be worth the wait, I have waited quite a while and accumulated lenses in the process. i have 2 panasonic superzooms now (FZ15 and my wifes FZ4) we have a baby due in October and I would like the camera to play with over the summer.

Ernie
TopSpin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2006, 9:55 PM   #2

Ernie,

Congratulations on the graduation. UT Galveston, A&M Galveston, or where?

That's a hard question to answer. Whatever Sony brings out, the price is sure to be higher than what you can get a 5D for today. Some people advise waiting, especially if you are buying used lenses at the current inflated prices. Typical street price for the 5D with the 18-70 kit lens is ±$599, $100 less than I paid at Wolf 6 weeks ago.
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 12:38 AM   #3

Ernie,

I agree with Cope. I paid $649 online at Digitalfotoclub.com a month ago. It's $794 on Wolfcamera.com, but I just saw it today at a Wolf Camera in Atlanta (Peachtree Center downtown)for $599...with the kit lens. The salesman told me they'll only last until they're out of stock.

I just can't imagine Sony will come out with initial Alpha prices that low. And if you've been reading the forums I'm sure you know that the 6.1 megapixel sensor in the 5D is more than adequate for the serious amateur. The image improvement above this level is negligible at best. I really believe the manufacturers are creating a sort of "MegaPixel Envy" in the marketplace.