Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24, 2006, 10:13 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
cope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 718
Default

DrChris wrote:
Quote:
Thanks for all your input.

Biggs Camera here in Charlotte has the 7500DX for $149. Looks like a winner for the price...I'll be getting one today.

Thanks again everybody!
For that price it's a no-brainer; use it for now, and if Sony comes out with a 5600Clone, or you find a deal on a 5600, you can get it later for a 2 flash set up.
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 2:01 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Ooooooooooooooops! My bad.

I went to Biggs Camera at lunch and it turns out the $149 price online is for the "old" Canon version (whatever that is). In the store, the new version is $229 and they don't carry the Minolta version. In fairness to them, I called every store in town and maybe I mixed something up. Anyway...I thought that price sounded too good to be true.

Since I have a family function this weekend and really needed the flash I went ahead and got the Promaster 5750DX ($119.99). Of course I had to also get the Minolta module. From what I could tell the main difference between the 7500DX and 5750DX is the power zoom. The 5750DX only has a 3 position manual zoom.

Sorry about the confusion and I really appreciate all the input. I don't know what I would do without this forum!
DrChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 2:44 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
rduve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,504
Default

DrChris wrote:
Quote:
Ooooooooooooooops! My bad.

I went to Biggs Camera at lunch and it turns out the $149 price online is for the "old" Canon version (whatever that is). In the store, the new version is $229 and they don't carry the Minolta version. In fairness to them, I called every store in town and maybe I mixed something up. Anyway...I thought that price sounded too good to be true.

Since I have a family function this weekend and really needed the flash I went ahead and got the Promaster 5750DX ($119.99). Of course I had to also get the Minolta module. From what I could tell the main difference between the 7500DX and 5750DX is the power zoom. The 5750DX only has a 3 position manual zoom.

Sorry about the confusion and I really appreciate all the input. I don't know what I would do without this forum!

Does the 5750DX have Minolta dedicated TTL metering?
rduve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 3:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
meanstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,234
Default

cope wrote:


Quote:
I got an email from a guy who saw that I had bought the Sigma from Cameta. We both had issues with the Sigma; I got a refund, he tried Sigma's remodeling service and then got a refund as well. He went with the Promaster just after I got the 5600HS. he sent me a picture of his results, and the last I heard from him he was still happy with it, and that's been a month or so. The kicker is that it runs around $229.95, but if it works for you. the longer zoom power and fill=flash make it pretty nice.

Cope,

Are you happy with the 5600? I haven't really gotten to use mine except to test it I am concerned that it may need calibration to work properly with the 7D. I forget whether it tends to underexpose or overexpose. A part of me wants to sell it because I know they are going for big bucks on EBay, but I think I should consider keeping it since there are none around and who knows what Sony will offer. I imagine at first they will just offer a rebadged 5600. It is possible they will want more than 299.




meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 3:07 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Yes, it does. I believe it is done thru the manufacturer-specific module. Which, by the way was another $69.99, for auto focus cameras.

Promaster.com has the specs.


DrChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 4:36 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
cope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 718
Default

meanstreak wrote:
Quote:
Cope,

Are you happy with the 5600? I haven't really gotten to use mine except to test it I am concerned that it may need calibration to work properly with the 7D. I forget whether it tends to underexpose or overexpose. A part of me wants to sell it because I know they are going for big bucks on EBay, but I think I should consider keeping it since there are none around and who knows what Sony will offer. I imagine at first they will just offer a rebadged 5600. It is possible they will want more than 299.



Yes, I am satisfied so far. I have only used it for a few test shots, but it does a good job on my 5D. I used the Sigma to bounce the flash off a white ceiling while shooting my daughter at ± 6', and it way under-exposed-too dark to tell who she was. The same shot a week later with the 5600 was great.
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 10:15 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
meanstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,234
Default

cope wrote:
Quote:
meanstreak wrote:
Quote:
Cope,

Are you happy with the 5600? I haven't really gotten to use mine except to test it I am concerned that it may need calibration to work properly with the 7D. I forget whether it tends to underexpose or overexpose. A part of me wants to sell it because I know they are going for big bucks on EBay, but I think I should consider keeping it since there are none around and who knows what Sony will offer. I imagine at first they will just offer a rebadged 5600. It is possible they will want more than 299.

Yes, I am satisfied so far. I have only used it for a few test shots, but it does a good job on my 5D. I used the Sigma to bounce the flash off a white ceiling while shooting my daughter at ± 6', and it way under-exposed-too dark to tell who she was. The same shot a week later with the 5600 was great.
Here's a shot with the 5600 HS and the Tamron 28-300 lens. It was at night and the room was in total darkness except for maybe some ambient light from a 35 inch TV. I could barely see through the viewfinder, but I think it came out pretty good in full auto.





meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 10:18 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
meanstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,234
Default

Here another.... Same conditions except for zoom



meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 10:26 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
meanstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,234
Default

... and yet another








meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 10:27 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
meanstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,234
Default

Last one.... I swear!

Overall, not too shabby for a quick test.


meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:29 PM.