Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 31, 2006, 11:35 AM   #1

Hi Guys,

My beloved 50mm F1.t doesn't seem to be working properly, but I'm no expert. If you put it in Aperture priority and take a pic in the daytime outdoors at F1.7, all is well, but if you stop down to F8, the pic is way over exposed.

I know that on the lens itself these is a little mechanical slider that moves in a semi circle to close and open the aperture. On all my other lenses, if you do this it springs back to its starting position, but on the 50mm it stays where you put it. this could be the problem but I don't have another 50mm to compare.

Help!! Can it be repaired and if so, anyone know where to send it in the UK. Alternatively do you think I'm better buying another used one??

Thanks guys.
Adambrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2006, 12:53 PM   #2

Adambrae wrote:
Quote:
Hi Guys,

My beloved 50mm F1.t doesn't seem to be working properly, but I'm no expert. If you put it in Aperture priority and take a pic in the daytime outdoors at F1.7, all is well, but if you stop down to F8, the pic is way over exposed.

I know that on the lens itself these is a little mechanical slider that moves in a semi circle to close and open the aperture. On all my other lenses, if you do this it springs back to its starting position, but on the 50mm it stays where you put it. this could be the problem but I don't have another 50mm to compare.

Help!! Can it be repaired and if so, anyone know where to send it in the UK. Alternatively do you think I'm better buying another used one??

Thanks guys.

I believe it is supposed to spring back. If that is the problem, I imagine it would be cheaper to buy another.
meanstreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2006, 3:52 PM   #3
Administrator