Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 12, 2006, 9:26 AM   #1

I'm an avid photographer and have definitely felt the limits of my Panasonic FZ15 -- especially in low-light situations. That is why I want the Sony A100, partly because it has the anti-shake. Originally, I wanted the KM5D but it's getting harder to find but I'm falling in love with the A100 with each preview that I see. And I do poster prints so the 10mp on the A100 is warranted for my needs.

My dilemma is that I'm a college student and I would like to keep the costs down. Here's the "kit" that I would like to ultimately have for everyday use:

Sony A100 dSLR body
A basic 18-70'ish lens that's reasonably fast and sharp (maybe going with the $1000 kit that comes with the 18-70 f/3.5-5.6 lens is a good idea)
A walking lens that has the same wide-angle elements but a longer zoom (I'm thinking 18-200...dunno how bright...but I'm thinking about going with a 3rd party to keep the costs down)
A 4gb High speed CompactFlash
Obviously a camera bag

Is it reasonable to say that I can get that kit for $1,500? I don't really want to spend anymore than that...and would actually like to spend closer to $1,200...man, photography is expensive.

I'm pretty set on the A100 unless Sony comes out with another dSLR that is affordable like the A100 and offers significantly beter features. I doubt this will be the case as their 2nd model will probably be geared towards the more semi-professional crowd.
Comp625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 12, 2006, 1:43 PM   #2

Thats just a start, it can... it will get way more expensive.

Other thread

You can get a 5d or 7d for hundreds less than the sony if you buy now. If your really on a budget, thats a gimme... you'll need that cash for other accessories.
tmoreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2006, 4:34 PM   #3