Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 24, 2006, 12:20 AM   #1

I have been cruising around with the Nikon folk for the past few weeks and am just about ready to make my DSLR purchase. When I started looking into buying a camera, I headed straight towards the 5D - but with Konica Minolta folding shop up, and Sony taking over, I looked elsewhere (Nikon). My logic behind this decision was I am just getting into photography - thus I have no glass (Minolta or Nikon). Since I'm starting from scratch, it may be better to go with a brand that will continue to offer me options in the future (camera bodies come and go, glass is forever). Secondly, I've read here and on DPReview that the people at Sony don't have the best warranty department.

I was at the mall this afternoon and found myself starring at a 5D and a D50 sitting side by side at Ritz... I know there are a bunch of 3rd party lens makers that will continue to offer lenses, and there is always KEH and e-bay, but what about Sony's service?

Anybody wanna offer their 2 cents?

mahalo in advance!
Hawaii Built is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 24, 2006, 5:11 AM   #2

If you only read online forums or reviews of any service center, you will likely get an impression that they're no good. This is because every person that has a bad experience feels compelled to find an outlet to "punish". An online forum is a perfect place for this, the person posting can say anything anonymously and the repair center has no recourse. (Have you ever noticed how on reviews, nearly everyone leaves either 5 stars or 1.) I also suspect that whoever Sony chose for the KM service was quite overwhelmed when service operations changed hands. I assume a lot of people held their broken KM bodies (and digicams) for some weeks before the change and they got pretty well "slammed" at that time.