Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha NEX

Old Sep 25, 2012, 8:09 PM   #1

Default NEX-5N Manual Settings for Nadir Aerial Imagery

Hi all,

I'm new to the camera world, especially the manual settings camera world. I am using a Sony NEX-5N with the 16mm lens.
I am taking pictures from anywhere between 100 and 400 feet vertically. I have my camera pointed at nadir and I am moving at a speed of approximately 4m/sec. I am taking my pictures within an hour or two of noon so the sun is at a high angle in the sky (more than 40 degrees). I am planning to stitch the pictures together into a seamless mosaic.
What are some good settings to use so I get consistent image lighting?
I would just like some suggestions as to where I should start.
I have been using 1/500 shutter speed with a 3.2 f/stop and have been getting mixed results.

Thanks in advance!
Steve
cczeets is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 25, 2012, 9:49 PM   #2

What do you mean by "mixed results"?

Can you post some examples?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 10:15 AM   #3

Thanks for the quick reply TC,

What I meant by mixed results is that I took a series of pictures on two different days (see below). The first two were taken shortly after lunch and the second two were taken shortly before lunch on the next day. The sun angle was very close to the same (only from a different direction) and both days were clear skies. If you look at the pictures, in the first two the colors match good (particularly the roof); in the second two the colors don't match as good (particularly the roof), one is darker than the other.